MagicEngine
Forums
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
 Japanese English 

CDs Not Working

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    MagicEngine Forum Index -> Information/Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Nijhazer
Visitor
Visitor


Joined: 12 Aug 2006
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat Aug 12, 2006 5:39 am    Post subject: CDs Not Working Reply with quote

Greetings,

I purchased a TurboGrafx CD and some CD-ROM games from a friend-- the CD drive does not work, but the CDs themselves are in good condition. I downloaded the 1.0 demo of MagicEngine to try the games out, and unfortunately none of them work in MagicEngine. In each case I get the following error in my logfile:

Code:
[BOOT CD]
reading TOC...
  - error : unexpected track index! (2/3)


Does anyone have any suggestions? The full logfile is listed below. Thanks!

--------------

Code:
[VIDEO INIT]
driver... DirectX
device: NVIDIA GeForce 6600 GT v14.10.8421 (HAL)

[INPUT INIT]
opening direct input DLL... OK
init direct input... OK
scanning gamepad device(s)...
  - no gamepad

[SOUND INIT]
scanning sound card... found 5 sound card(s)
checking sound card mixer ("SB X-Fi Audio [8000]" v5.10)... OK
 +SPEAKERS:   vol =  50 [00000000/0000FFFF]
   -WAVEOUT      [ 0] vol =  49 [00000000/0000FFFF]
   -COMPACTDISC  [ 1] vol =  65 [00000000/0000FFFF] (selected as CD input line)
   -MICROPHONE   [ 2] vol =  37 [00000000/0000FFFF]
   -ANALOG       [ 3] vol =  65 [00000000/0000FFFF]
   -LINE         [ 4] vol =  65 [00000000/0000FFFF]
   -SYNTHESIZER  [ 5] vol =  93 [00000000/0000FFFF]
   -DIGITAL      [ 6] vol =  94 [00000000/0000FFFF]
   -WAVEOUT      [ 7]
 +WAVEIN:     
master audio volume... 50 (50)
wav audio volume... 49 (49)
cd audio volume... 65 (65)
opening direct sound DLL... OK
init direct sound... OK
set cooperative level... OK
create primary buffer... OK
setup primary buffer: freq=44100 channels=2 bits=16... OK
create thread... OK

[CD-ROM INIT]
scanning drives...
  - drive E: _NEC DVD_RW ND-3520A  (port=0, unit=0)  [CDROM]
found 1 CD-ROM drive(s)

[CDDA INIT]
creating thread... OK

[CD SCAN INIT]
creating thread... OK

[GAMEPAD INIT]
auto calibration: -500 500

[BACKUP RAM INIT]
loading backup RAM database index file : "C:\Documents and Settings\User\Desktop\me100-english-pr10\backup.idx"... file not found!

[PSG INIT]
allocating sound buffers(6)... OK
allocating ADPCM sound buffer... OK

[HUCARD]
create dummy rom... OK
initialize a new backup RAM bank

[HUCARD]
loading ROM file : "C:\Documents and Settings\User\Desktop\me100-english-pr10\SYSCARD3.PCE"... OK
searching game backup RAM in database [6d9a73ef|00000000]... not found
initialize a new backup RAM bank

[BOOT CD]
reading TOC...
  - error : unexpected track index! (2/3)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nodtveidt
Elder
Elder


Joined: 27 Dec 2004
Posts: 414
Location: Isla del Encanto

PostPosted: Sat Aug 12, 2006 5:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are the CDs originals or burns? They sound like burns...and bad ones at that.
_________________
Frozen Utopia
Retro gaming was never this cool.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Nijhazer
Visitor
Visitor


Joined: 12 Aug 2006
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat Aug 12, 2006 4:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nodtveidt wrote:
Are the CDs originals or burns? They sound like burns...and bad ones at that.


As far as I know, they're originals. They look fairly old, the cover art and CD artwork is the same as I can find everywhere online, etc etc...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dmichel
Admin
Admin


Joined: 04 Apr 2002
Posts: 1167
Location: France

PostPosted: Sat Aug 12, 2006 4:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That error means that track 2 on the CD has index 3 in the TOC, apparently the TOC jump from track 1 to track 3 which is illegal, you can't skip a track index. The CDs would perhaps work though if MagicEngine was not checking that, are the CDs original?

To fix that you will need to dump the CDs and re-burn them with a correct TOC.
_________________
David Michel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dmichel
Admin
Admin


Joined: 04 Apr 2002
Posts: 1167
Location: France

PostPosted: Sat Aug 12, 2006 4:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nijhazer wrote:

As far as I know, they're originals. They look fairly old, the cover art and CD artwork is the same as I can find everywhere online, etc etc...


Interesting... this is strange that this error happens then, may be the CD are too old. Try to rip one with TurboRIP to see if it detects errors.
_________________
David Michel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nijhazer
Visitor
Visitor


Joined: 12 Aug 2006
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat Aug 12, 2006 5:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dmichel wrote:
Nijhazer wrote:

As far as I know, they're originals. They look fairly old, the cover art and CD artwork is the same as I can find everywhere online, etc etc...


Interesting... this is strange that this error happens then, may be the CD are too old. Try to rip one with TurboRIP to see if it detects errors.


Thanks for the tip. Wink I get this error when attempting to rip any of the discs using TurboRip:



The ReadMe for the program says that some NEC drives can cause problems-- I do have an NEC drive, though I'm not sure if that's a problem. Let me try running TurboRip on another computer in the house with a different CD-ROM drive, and I'll post an update momentarily.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nijhazer
Visitor
Visitor


Joined: 12 Aug 2006
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat Aug 12, 2006 5:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

These discs work fine on the other computer. It's running Windows 2000, but still... Anyway, my drive wasn't the problem. There is a program installed on my computer called "DVD43" which is designed to remove DVD copy protection on the fly; I use it along with Nero Recode to easily rip my DVDs into a format playable on my PSP. However, this program loads with Windows and there doesn't appear to be a way to tell it not to do that. As long as it's active in the system tray, neither Magic Engine nor TurboRip can accurately read PC Engine CDs.

I manually shut DVD43 off by right-clicking in the system tray and now everything works perfectly in Magic Engine. Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    MagicEngine Forum Index -> Information/Support All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group