MagicEngine
Forums
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
 Japanese English 

Does ME 1.0.0 PR10 need the SYSCARD files??

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    MagicEngine Forum Index -> Information/Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
billnes
Member
Member


Joined: 13 Feb 2005
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Mon Jul 23, 2007 1:06 am    Post subject: Does ME 1.0.0 PR10 need the SYSCARD files?? Reply with quote

Greetings all,

I'm sorry I have to ask this, it wasn't in the FAQ. When you have M.E. 1.0.0 PR10 installed, is there any need to have the three SYSCARD files in the directory with M.E.?

Thanks for time, effort and consideration in this issue.

Regards,
Bill "The Colonel" N.
Hicksville, NY
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tomasz
Regular
Regular


Joined: 29 Oct 2003
Posts: 89

PostPosted: Mon Jul 23, 2007 1:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It doesn't need them, but it is highly advisable to use them.

Using the syscard images is more compatible than the built in magic system emulation of the syscards.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
billnes
Member
Member


Joined: 13 Feb 2005
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Mon Jul 23, 2007 3:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tomasz,

I presume that I should just take the three SYSCARD files and drop then into the directory where M.E. is?

M.E. has the ability to know that the SYSCARDS are present in the directory and it knows what to do automaticaly??

Thanks,
Bill N. - New York
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dmichel
Admin
Admin


Joined: 04 Apr 2002
Posts: 1167
Location: France

PostPosted: Mon Jul 23, 2007 1:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, drop them in ME directory, the emulator will detect and use them automaticaly. Or you can click on the little down arrow in the 'boot cd' menu, this will open the system card config menu.
_________________
David Michel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
billnes
Member
Member


Joined: 13 Feb 2005
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Mon Jul 23, 2007 6:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

David,

I hope you'll excuse me if this seems like a silly question: Why can't you simply take the code from the System Card 3 and hard-code it directly into the emulator?? A copyright issue??

Thanks,
Bill N.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kaminari
Elder
Elder


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 1432
Location: Paris, France

PostPosted: Tue Jul 24, 2007 3:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There's a thin red line between reverse-engineering and piracy which well-behaved developers like David try not to cross. Creating an emulator from scratch is one legal thing, but borrowing even small snippets of code from the original BIOS is not.
_________________
Kaminarimon HES Music Archive | Tokugawa Corporation | YouTube Channel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    MagicEngine Forum Index -> Information/Support All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group