MagicEngine
Forums
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
 Japanese English 

1.1.3 Crash on low res: 321x240, 336x240, 512x240...

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    MagicEngine Forum Index -> Bug/Problem Reports
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Kramer
Visitor
Visitor


Joined: 20 May 2008
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Feb 04, 2009 4:05 pm    Post subject: 1.1.3 Crash on low res: 321x240, 336x240, 512x240... Reply with quote

I'm using soft15KHz to use a 15KHz arcade monitor (on win XP pro).
The concept is the same as using an ArcadeVGA.

If I set one of these low resolutions, Magic Engine crashes:
321x240, 336x240, 352x256, and 512x240

So I have in the ini:

custom_resolution=y
res_256=256,240
res_320=321,240
res_336=336,240
res_352=352,256
res_512=512,240
res_gui=640,480

The only one low resolution that works is 256x240, but its not good for many games like "r-type cd" (the intro is ok, but just before the game start it crashes, because "in game" uses a bigger resolution than 256x240 and the switch is fatal).

I've tryed all video settings (screen ratio, stretch, bit depht, triple buffer, zoom/no zoom ....) but the problem remains the same.

I've tryed also setting mentioned non working resolutions in the main setting, putting "custom_resolution=N":

;
; screen resolution
; --
;

screen_width=321
screen_height=240
screen_depth=32

In this case ME crashes immediately when I double click on the exe.

With other emulators (mame, kega fusion, zsnes, winuae, mednafen, ootake) I have no problems with mentioned low res.

Thanks in advance for any help.

PS: I'm using WinXP Pro SP3 standard installation on an Intel E8400+2gbRAM.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dmichel
Admin
Admin


Joined: 04 Apr 2002
Posts: 1167
Location: France

PostPosted: Fri Feb 06, 2009 7:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's not the first time that someone report this error but so far I have never found what was wrong. Sad

I think it was reported that the fullscreen stretch option could trigger this problem when set but you said you tried all the settings. Does using OpenGL make any difference?
_________________
David Michel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kramer
Visitor
Visitor


Joined: 20 May 2008
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri Feb 13, 2009 9:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

dmichel wrote:
I think it was reported that the fullscreen stretch option could trigger this problem when set but you said you tried all the settings.

Yes, I've read about that, but there's no setting that solves this problem. Maybe they tryed only "256x240" res.

dmichel wrote:

Does using OpenGL make any difference?


No difference, it works exactly the same Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tisurame
Visitor
Visitor


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu May 06, 2010 5:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I also have the same problem and I'm pretty sure the USB joystick have something to do with it.

I tried two different joysticks (Playstation and Xbox) and the same problem happens. If I just unplug the USB cable, everything works perfectly.

David, could you please investigate this problem?

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    MagicEngine Forum Index -> Bug/Problem Reports All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group