MagicEngine
Forums
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
 Japanese English 

New PCFX Crash
Goto page Previous  1, 2
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    MagicEngine Forum Index -> Bug Reports
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Kaminari
Elder
Elder


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 1432
Location: Paris, France

PostPosted: Wed Jan 23, 2008 12:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mmm... no. The mouse is used by many FX games. What you want is hide the Windows pointer, not disable mouse support ;) Personally, I don't have any problem with the Windows cursor and custom resolutions. It's correctly captured when switching the GUI off.
_________________
Kaminarimon HES Music Archive | Tokugawa Corporation | YouTube Channel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Chris
Regular
Regular


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 125

PostPosted: Wed Jan 23, 2008 9:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, you are right, just an option or hotkey (for example 'F12' key to show/hide mouse pointer like most of NEC PC9801 emus Neco2 ,Anex..) to hide mouse pointer for some games...particularly shooters such as Zeroigar (between cutscenes in 336x224, but in game 256x224) ..everytime the game starts in new stage, it shows up in the center of the screen..not to mention, my custom mouse pointer looks like one of its enemy ship Razz ..it's a bit annoying

btw, one bug report - only Anime mode works in Zeroigar, second mode from option menu, locks up, as soon as the game starts
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dmichel
Admin
Admin


Joined: 04 Apr 2002
Posts: 1167
Location: France

PostPosted: Thu Jan 24, 2008 2:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Logicaly MEFX doesnt show the mouse pointer until you move your mouse, but may be Windows send extra mouse messages even when you don't move it, I will add a test to see if the mouse is really moved or not.

I have uploaded a new test version. I increased the number of video modes to 250, hopefuly this will fix all your problems (they may not all appear in the video config popup list though, the limit there is 128). I have added more debugging output in the log too so if it still doesn't work post your log.

About the fullscreen stretch option, you don't need to set it for low resolutions, at least here it works without it even in 256x224.
_________________
David Michel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chris
Regular
Regular


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 125

PostPosted: Thu Jan 24, 2008 3:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

>>Logicaly MEFX doesnt show the mouse pointer until you move your >>mouse

that would be very convenient just like old Magic Engine...
however mouse pointer always shows up in the center of the screen after mode change, whether you moved your mouse or not

>>About the fullscreen stretch option, you don't need to set it for low >>resolutions, at least here it works without it even in 256x224.

yes, my nVidia card doesn't have this problem, but my Matrox G450 PCI does...this must be something to do with their driver...as i heard they blocked some of custom resolutions and display timing settings in the latest driver for safety reason...


anyway, i'll let you know the result, as soon as I get back home...

take care


Last edited by Chris on Thu Jan 24, 2008 3:38 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chris
Regular
Regular


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 125

PostPosted: Thu Jan 24, 2008 3:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, now it doesn't crash as i expected, but some useful custom resolution is missing from 'MEFX build video mode list' I assume, thus MEFX uses default 640x480 instead of 672x448 custom mode
i guess, to solve this problem, further increase mode list ? probably to 400 ?
as it looks like it adds up additional display modes from the other display driver (Matrox) , making it up to total of 382 video modes !!! Surprised

here's my log


[VIDEO INIT]
driver... DirectX
found 1 video adapter(s)
- adapter 1 has 2 device(s) and 382 video mode(s)
select adapter... 1
select device... 1
build video mode list... 249 modes
device: v0.0.0 (HAL)

[INPUT INIT]
opening direct input DLL... OK
init direct input... OK
scanning gamepad device(s)...
- gamepad 0 : Dual USB Force Feedback Joypad (MP-8866) (buttons=12, axes=4, povs=1, guid=D346F900-2101-11DC-8001444553540000)
- gamepad 1 : Dual USB Force Feedback Joypad (MP-8866) (buttons=12, axes=4, povs=1, guid=D442BE20-2101-11DC-8002444553540000)
found 2 gamepad(s)

[SOUND INIT]
scanning sound card... found 1 sound card(s)
checking sound card mixer ("SB PCI128 Mixer" v4.6Cool... OK
+SPEAKERS: vol = 49 [00000000/0000FFFF]
-COMPACTDISC [ 0] vol = 49 [00000000/0000FFFF] (selected as CD input line)
-WAVEOUT [ 1] vol = 49 [00000000/0000FFFF]
-SYNTHESIZER [ 2] vol = 49 [00000000/0000FFFF]
-MICROPHONE [ 3] vol = 49 [00000000/0000FFFF]
-AUXILIARY [ 4] vol = 48 [00000000/0000FFFF]
-AUXILIARY [ 5] vol = 49 [00000000/0000FFFF]
-AUXILIARY [ 6] vol = 78 [00000000/0000FFFF]
-TELEPHONE [ 7] vol = 49 [00000000/0000FFFF]
+WAVEIN:
master audio volume... 49 (49)
wav audio volume... 49 (49)
cd audio volume... 49 (49)
opening direct sound DLL... OK
init direct sound... OK
set cooperative level... OK
create primary buffer... OK
setup primary buffer: freq=44100 channels=2 bits=16... OK
create thread... OK

[CD-ROM INIT]
scanning drives...
opening ASPI DLL... OK
found 5 adapters
+ drive 0: ZTekWare OCDE (port=0, unit=0) [CDROM]
+ drive 1: SAMSUNG CDRW/DVD SM-352B (port=1, unit=0) [CDROM]
+ drive 2: TSSTcorp CD/DVDW SH-W162C (port=1, unit=1) [CDROM]
+ drive 3: Generic DVD-ROM (port=2, unit=0) [CDROM]
+ drive 4: MagicISO Virtual DVD-ROM (port=3, unit=0) [CDROM]
+ drive 5: MagicISO Virtual DVD-ROM (port=3, unit=1) [CDROM]
+ drive 6: MagicISO Virtual DVD-ROM (port=3, unit=2) [CDROM]
+ drive 7: MagicISO Virtual DVD-ROM (port=3, unit=3) [CDROM]
found 8 CD-ROM drive(s)

[CDDA INIT]
creating thread... OK

[CD SCAN INIT]
creating thread... OK

[GAMEPAD INIT]
auto calibration: -500 500

[PSG INIT]
allocating sound buffers(6)... OK
allocating ADPCM sound buffer [0]... OK
allocating ADPCM sound buffer [1]... OK
couldn't find video mode... (336x224x32)

[BOOT CD]
reading TOC...
- track 1 [00]: 00 02 00 ( 0, 1982)
- track 2 [04]: 00 28 32 ( 1982, 180819)
- track 3 [00]: 40 12 69 ( 180819, 193570)
- track 4 [00]: 43 02 70 ( 193570, 213671)
- track 5 [00]: 47 30 71 ( 213671, 269144)
- OK, 5 track(s)
cd read: sector=2144 cnt=10
cd read: sector=2000 cnt=144
cd read: sector=2576 cnt=16384
cd read: sector=152330 cnt=8
cd read: sector=18960 cnt=16771
cd read: sector=152298 cnt=32
cd read: sector=152978 cnt=64
cd read: sector=153042 cnt=64
cd read: sector=153106 cnt=64
cd read: sector=153170 cnt=64
cd read: sector=153234 cnt=64
cd read: sector=153298 cnt=64
cd read: sector=153362 cnt=64
cd read: sector=153426 cnt=64
cd read: sector=153490 cnt=64
cd read: sector=152914 cnt=64
cd read: sector=152850 cnt=64
cd read: sector=111873 cnt=32
cd read: sector=112084 cnt=32
cd read: sector=120189 cnt=32
cd read: sector=120331 cnt=32
cd read: sector=111905 cnt=64
cd read: sector=111969 cnt=16
cd read: sector=111985 cnt=16
cd read: sector=112001 cnt=16
cd read: sector=112017 cnt=16
cd read: sector=112033 cnt=16
cd read: sector=112049 cnt=16
cd read: sector=112065 cnt=16
cd read: sector=112081 cnt=3
cd read: sector=112116 cnt=16
cd read: sector=112132 cnt=16
cd read: sector=112148 cnt=16
cd read: sector=112164 cnt=16
cd read: sector=112180 cnt=16
cd read: sector=112196 cnt=16
cd read: sector=112212 cnt=16
cd read: sector=112228 cnt=16
cd read: sector=112244 cnt=16
cd read: sector=112260 cnt=16
cd read: sector=112276 cnt=16
cd read: sector=112292 cnt=16
cd read: sector=112308 cnt=16
cd read: sector=112324 cnt=16
cd read: sector=112340 cnt=16
cd read: sector=112356 cnt=16

[GAMEPAD STATS]
gamepad 0 stats:
status: 0000
poll errors: 8007000c 0 0 0
poll: failed=0 success=3890
axes (4):
- 0: min=-8 max=0 [3890 (0 / 0)]
- 1: min=-8 max=0 [3890 (0 / 0)]
- 2: min=-8 max=0 [3890 (0 / 0)]
- 3: min=268435456 max=-268435456 [0 (0 / 0)]
povs (1):
- 0: min=-1 max=-1 [3890 (0 / 0 / 0 / 0)]
buttons (12):
- 0: off=3890 on=0 bitmask=00
- 1: off=3876 on=14 bitmask=80
- 2: off=3890 on=0 bitmask=00
- 3: off=3890 on=0 bitmask=00
- 4: off=3890 on=0 bitmask=00
- 5: off=3890 on=0 bitmask=00
- 6: off=3890 on=0 bitmask=00
- 7: off=3890 on=0 bitmask=00
- 8: off=3890 on=0 bitmask=00
- 9: off=3854 on=36 bitmask=80
- 10: off=3890 on=0 bitmask=00
- 11: off=3890 on=0 bitmask=00

[GAMEPAD STATS]
gamepad 1 stats:
status: 0000
poll errors: 8007000c 0 0 0
poll: failed=0 success=3890
axes (4):
- 0: min=0 max=0 [3890 (0 / 0)]
- 1: min=0 max=0 [3890 (0 / 0)]
- 2: min=0 max=0 [3890 (0 / 0)]
- 3: min=268435456 max=-268435456 [0 (0 / 0)]
povs (1):
- 0: min=-1 max=-1 [3890 (0 / 0 / 0 / 0)]
buttons (12):
- 0: off=3890 on=0 bitmask=00
- 1: off=3890 on=0 bitmask=00
- 2: off=3890 on=0 bitmask=00
- 3: off=3890 on=0 bitmask=00
- 4: off=3890 on=0 bitmask=00
- 5: off=3890 on=0 bitmask=00
- 6: off=3890 on=0 bitmask=00
- 7: off=3890 on=0 bitmask=00
- 8: off=3890 on=0 bitmask=00
- 9: off=3890 on=0 bitmask=00
- 10: off=3890 on=0 bitmask=00
- 11: off=3890 on=0 bitmask=00
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dmichel
Admin
Admin


Joined: 04 Apr 2002
Posts: 1167
Location: France

PostPosted: Thu Jan 24, 2008 6:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Resolutions are counted twice, one time for 32-bit and a second time for 16-bit, that's why the number is so high. I can't raise the limit to more than 250 though, doing so would require a lot of changes in the emulator. ^^; Instead I will add an option to filter high resolutions, this should do the trick I think.
_________________
David Michel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chris
Regular
Regular


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 125

PostPosted: Thu Jan 24, 2008 10:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

then how about filtering option for 16 bit/32 color bit in INI ?..as I don't use 32 bit color..just like many of us don't care about 16 bit modes.
maybe would this make thing easier ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dmichel
Admin
Admin


Joined: 04 Apr 2002
Posts: 1167
Location: France

PostPosted: Sat Jan 26, 2008 2:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Good idea.

Here's a new test version.

It fixes the triple buffer option typo (name is now 'triple_buffer') and it supports four new options to filter high resolution and bit depth :

;
; screen resolution filter
; --
; max width (640 .. 2560)
; max height (480 .. 1600)
;

res_max_width=1024
res_max_height=768

;
; screen bit depth filter
; --
;
; y -> enable [default]
; n -> disable
;

res_16bit=y
res_32bit=n

The resolution lock option is back too :

;
; screen resolution lock
; --
; enable/disable screen resolution locking
;
; y -> auto lock
; n -> no resolution lock [default]
;

res_lock=y

and it works with custom screen resolution as well.
_________________
David Michel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chris
Regular
Regular


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 125

PostPosted: Sat Jan 26, 2008 1:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

now everything works as they should be !!
thanks again ..
just can't wait to see these GUI improvements under Magic Engine !!

take care
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dmichel
Admin
Admin


Joined: 04 Apr 2002
Posts: 1167
Location: France

PostPosted: Fri Feb 08, 2008 8:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I made a new test version. I improved the cursor auto-hide feature. Now you need to move the mouse a bit to make the cursor re-appear, may be this will fix the cursor problem you encountered when switching screen resolution. Let me know. Smile
_________________
David Michel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chris
Regular
Regular


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 125

PostPosted: Fri Feb 08, 2008 11:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

that certenly fixes that little problem Smile

thanks again
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    MagicEngine Forum Index -> Bug Reports All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group