MagicEngine
Forums
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
 Japanese English 

Ys Book I & II black screen after run

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    MagicEngine Forum Index -> General
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Snacko
Visitor
Visitor


Joined: 26 Jul 2008
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sat Jul 26, 2008 6:16 am    Post subject: Ys Book I & II black screen after run Reply with quote

I've been trying running Ys Book I & II from an ISO file (I have an old copy but lost it long ago along with my PCE) and I get a screen that says:

Magic System
ver. 3.00
Push Run Button!

I do so and the game stays stuck at a black screen, how can I fix this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Snacko
Visitor
Visitor


Joined: 26 Jul 2008
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sat Jul 26, 2008 8:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh, and note that the ISO I'm mounting is Track 02.iso, I've tried the .cue files but Daemon's Tools won't recognize it as a CD file.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kaminari
Elder
Elder


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 1432
Location: Paris, France

PostPosted: Sat Jul 26, 2008 11:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If DT doesn't recognize your cuesheet, chances are you have a bad image.

Second, don't use the built-in Magic System. Look for a real Super System Card ROM.
_________________
Kaminarimon HES Music Archive | Tokugawa Corporation | YouTube Channel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Snacko
Visitor
Visitor


Joined: 26 Jul 2008
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sat Jul 26, 2008 4:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Two questions, first of all, is it against the ToS to find where I'd find a good dump? If so just ignore this, it's just that I've tried three different dumps and Daemon's Tools was unable to mount any of the cue files.

Second, whenever I try to run a SuperCD System Card it just stays at "Just a Moment...", I'm using 3.0 (though I've tried 2.0), did you mean something else or is it a bad ROM?

And I apologize for this frequent editing, but if I mounted Track 02.iso, if everything was working perfectly, would the game run on MagicEngine?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Snacko
Visitor
Visitor


Joined: 26 Jul 2008
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sat Jul 26, 2008 8:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay, so I tried mounting another cue file from a PC Engine CD rip, same thing, am I supposed to mount the cue file or ISO?

When I try to run the ISO from a card, I get stuck on the "Just a Moment" screen.

Alright, I'm going on my second to last legs of desperation (the final is replacing the disk which would cost $40 and I don't want to splurge unless I know for sure it it works). Here is every file I found in the rip:

Track 01.mp3
Track 02.iso
Track 03.mp3
Track 04.mp3
Track 05.mp3
Track 06.mp3
Track 07.mp3
Track 08.mp3
Track 09.mp3
Track 10.mp3
Track 11.mp3
Track 12.mp3
Track 13.mp3
Track 14.mp3
Track 14.mp3
Track 16.mp3
Track 17.mp3
Track 18.mp3
Track 19.mp3
Track 20.mp3
Track 21.mp3
Track 22.mp3
Track 23.mp3
Track 24.mp3
Track 25.mp3
Track 26.mp3
Track 27.mp3
Track 28.mp3
Track 29.mp3
Track 30.mp3
Track 31.mp3
Track 32.mp3
Track 33.mp3
Track 34.mp3
Ys Book I & II.cue

I also have another rip that has mp3s up to 43 as well as one more file called "Ys Book I & II (mp3).cue".

As I said DT will mount the .iso file, but not the .cue file.

After the .iso file is mounted, MagicEngine displays the .iso in the virtual drive as "PCE CD". Running from a system card results in my getting stuck on the "Just a Moment..." screen while running it from MagicEngine causes the emulator to simply display a black screen. I have tried formatting both cards.

In the main MagicEngine folder I have these files:
cheats (this is a folder)
patches (this is a folder)
screenshots (this is a folder)
states (this is a folder)
games.idx
KEY.dat
log.txt
pce.exe
pce.ini
pce.cfg
readme.txt
time.dat
CD Card 2.0 (U).pce
SuperCDCard3.0.pce

Now, can I have step by step instructions for getting this thing to work?

Also one more question:
1) Will this run the actual disk?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Snacko
Visitor
Visitor


Joined: 26 Jul 2008
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun Jul 27, 2008 3:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Alright, I created a .toc file that says this:
Track 01 Audio 00:02:00 LBA=000000
Track 02 Data 00:49:71 LBA=003596
Track 03 Audio 02:44:02 LBA=012152
Track 04 Audio 04:47:41 LBA=021416
Track 05 Audio 06:51:02 LBA=030677
Track 06 Audio 08:57:24 LBA=040149
Track 07 Audio 11:02:27 LBA=049527
Track 08 Audio 12:54:15 LBA=057915
Track 09 Audio 15:01:57 LBA=067482
Track 10 Audio 17:23:45 LBA=078120
Track 11 Audio 19:42:36 LBA=088536
Track 12 Audio 21:54:07 LBA=098407
Track 13 Audio 23:52:65 LBA=107315
Track 14 Audio 25:52:29 LBA=116279
Track 15 Audio 28:53:03 LBA=129828
Track 16 Audio 31:50:53 LBA=143153
Track 17 Audio 34:14:66 LBA=153966
Track 18 Audio 35:55:21 LBA=161496
Track 19 Audio 38:17:71 LBA=172196
Track 20 Audio 39:56:59 LBA=179609
Track 21 Audio 44:56:53 LBA=202103
Track 22 Audio 47:41:51 LBA=214476
Track 23 Audio 49:36:09 LBA=223059
Track 24 Audio 51:33:25 LBA=231850
Track 25 Audio 52:36:35 LBA=236585
Track 26 Audio 54:49:64 LBA=246589
Track 27 Audio 57:35:46 LBA=259021
Track 28 Audio 60:48:35 LBA=273485
Track 29 Audio 61:47:16 LBA=277891
Track 30 Audio 62:05:67 LBA=279292
Track 31 Audio 63:05:70 LBA=283795
Track 32 Audio 63:46:04 LBA=286804
Track 33 Audio 64:08:27 LBA=288477
Track 34 Audio 64:27:44 LBA=289919
Track 35 Audio 65:01:06 LBA=292431
Track 36 Audio 65:11:72 LBA=293247
Track 37 Audio 66:17:26 LBA=298151
Track 38 Audio 67:28:44 LBA=303494
Track 39 Audio 68:34:23 LBA=308423
Track 40 Audio 68:49:37 LBA=309562
Track 41 Audio 69:37:10 LBA=313135
Track 42 Audio 70:52:48 LBA=318798
Track 43 Audio 71:31:72 LBA=321747

I titled it ysbook.toc as suggested on another forum and renamed the cue files to match.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
goitalone
Visitor
Visitor


Joined: 28 Jul 2008
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Jul 28, 2008 2:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just found Y's myself...I had the same problem with the black screen and I fianlly got it working somehow...not sure exactly how, I just gave Daemon Tools and pce.exe Admin privileges and restarted Daemon and it worked after a few tries.

Anyways, my problem is I finished Ys Book I but when I get to Goban the bandit's hut (where it is suppose to load Book II) his vocals are cut off right at the end and everything freezes and nothing loads or works and I am forced to reset or reload the game.

Any help or ideas will be much appreciated,

thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
goitalone
Visitor
Visitor


Joined: 28 Jul 2008
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Jul 29, 2008 6:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NM, I got it working Very Happy Had to get system card 3.0 ROM to continue the game Very Happy

Copy and paste the FULL link below into your web browser and click go, if anyone wants/needs the system cards. It's 2.0 and 3.0 together I think.

admin: link removed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
dmichel
Admin
Admin


Joined: 04 Apr 2002
Posts: 1167
Location: France

PostPosted: Thu Jul 31, 2008 5:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No ROM links in the forum please. Smile

The Ys problem is also fixed in MagicEngine 1.0.
_________________
David Michel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
goitalone
Visitor
Visitor


Joined: 28 Jul 2008
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri Aug 01, 2008 12:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ah, I see how it is..sorry about that Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
KingHanco
Member
Member


Joined: 27 Sep 2006
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Tue Oct 21, 2008 6:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Be careful because some of those cd rips are bad rips or missing files.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
goitalone
Visitor
Visitor


Joined: 28 Jul 2008
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Oct 22, 2008 12:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I got it to work, played it, beat it. Brought back some great memories from when I was 16 as well.

When the that game came out, my dad paid like 400 bucks for that cheesy CD-ROM plus another 50 for Y's.

Anyways, I'm out!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    MagicEngine Forum Index -> General All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group