MagicEngine
Forums
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
 Japanese English 

Ginga Fukei Densetsu: Sapphire graphic glitch !

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    MagicEngine Forum Index -> General
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
finjo34
Visitor
Visitor


Joined: 24 Aug 2008
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun Aug 24, 2008 12:54 pm    Post subject: Ginga Fukei Densetsu: Sapphire graphic glitch ! Reply with quote

I have the latest MagicEngine 1.13 and have the require bios (SYSCARD3.PCE), load the game normally (virtual drive) like I do with most other turbo cd game. Only this time, this Sapphire graphic is corrupted, total blocky garbage, I try everything, from adjusting the graphic option available to trying download a few other sites, all to no avail. Still blocky chunk of undeciprable graphic, what am I doing wrong ? I can load other cd games notmally without any graphic issue.

Anyone have this problem and able to work around it, please assist me. Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kaminari
Elder
Elder


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 1432
Location: Paris, France

PostPosted: Sun Aug 24, 2008 3:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try running it with Ootake. If you encounter the same issues, your CD rip is invalid.
_________________
Kaminarimon HES Music Archive | Tokugawa Corporation | YouTube Channel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
finjo34
Visitor
Visitor


Joined: 24 Aug 2008
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun Aug 24, 2008 4:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kaminari, thanks for bringing up an alternative emulator known as Ootake. But I try downgrading the MagicEngine to ver. 1.0 and guess what.. The graphic problem is gone, and damn, this game rocks. I thought I am gonna skip this game entirely and forget about it, boy... I am grateful that I didn't. To anyone who haven't try the game, I wholly recommend this shooter, it's so awesome, words can't describe how action packed and marvelous this little 30 MB zip download is !

My only question now is why the degraded version is able to run while the latest one couldn't. And Kaminari, is Ootake a good emulator for pc engine ? Also, does anyone else encounter this graphical glitch running Sapphire with the latest MagicEngine 1.13 or is it just me? And can someone provide me a link for the 1.12 version, the 1.0 one is way too outdated although Sapphore still manage to run it superbly and the graphic is stunning. Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kaminari
Elder
Elder


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 1432
Location: Paris, France

PostPosted: Sun Aug 24, 2008 7:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Strange, I don't have any problem with Sapphire and ME 1.1.3.

You can get the previous version here.
_________________
Kaminarimon HES Music Archive | Tokugawa Corporation | YouTube Channel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
finjo34
Visitor
Visitor


Joined: 24 Aug 2008
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2008 3:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks again for the link. Hope the 1.12 has no issue with sapphire.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
finjo34
Visitor
Visitor


Joined: 24 Aug 2008
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2008 3:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ME 1.12 has similar graphical glitches. Does ME has 1.10 version? Otherwise, I'll just stick with version 1.0.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
segagamer
Visitor
Visitor


Joined: 25 Jan 2006
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2009 2:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

finjo34 wrote:
ME 1.12 has similar graphical glitches. Does ME has 1.10 version? Otherwise, I'll just stick with version 1.0.


I tried both versions and both have graphical glitches.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ichabod
Visitor
Visitor


Joined: 18 Aug 2009
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sun Aug 30, 2009 10:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have exactly the same glitches. Burned with DaemonTools.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kaminari
Elder
Elder


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 1432
Location: Paris, France

PostPosted: Tue Sep 01, 2009 5:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can't help here, sorry. My original copy works.
_________________
Kaminarimon HES Music Archive | Tokugawa Corporation | YouTube Channel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Integrater
Visitor
Visitor


Joined: 15 Apr 2011
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Apr 15, 2011 2:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I know this is an old thread but after having the very same problem with the same game and searching google to find an answer I found this thread hoping to find a solution.

I ended up finding it on my own and would like to put it here.

Simply remove ALL your system card files (*.pce) from your magic engine directory and the game will play perfectly fine with no GFX problems at all.

At least this worked for me.

I hope this is useful to someone.
_________________
<unreadable squiggle>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kaminari
Elder
Elder


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 1432
Location: Paris, France

PostPosted: Sat Apr 16, 2011 7:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Interesting workaround.

However, the built-in Magic System has many issues compared to the real System Cards. Besides, I don't have the problems mentioned in this topic while using a System Card 3 ROM. The graphic bugs must come from some other factor.
_________________
Kaminarimon HES Music Archive | Tokugawa Corporation | YouTube Channel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
tirewse1
Visitor
Visitor


Joined: 26 Apr 2011
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2011 9:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

good post
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
David Shadoff
Regular
Regular


Joined: 10 May 2002
Posts: 83
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Wed Apr 27, 2011 3:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I hate to be so blunt, because most people won't read past the first sentence and simply recoil, but you must be playing with a bad rip.

The original game was actually mastered differently than all other PC Engine games that I aware of - using "Track-At-Once" rather than "Disk-At-Once" mastering. This means that there are additional inter-track linkages which don't exist on other game disks, which cause a number of problems if you play with a rip done through conventional means. One such problem is a blast of noise roughly at the point where a music track might start/end (or loop), and another is graphical glitches.

I recall researching this issue (I believe it was with NightWolve) many years back, and this was one of the motivating factors for him writing his tools and tutorials; he also created a custom hand-edited version of the raw rip of this game due to this problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    MagicEngine Forum Index -> General All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group