MagicEngine
Forums
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
 Japanese English 

ME 1.0 PR v1,2,3 - GUI FPS very slow

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    MagicEngine Forum Index -> Bug/Problem Reports
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Pcenginefx
Visitor
Visitor


Joined: 07 Jul 2003
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Fri Nov 19, 2004 10:39 pm    Post subject: ME 1.0 PR v1,2,3 - GUI FPS very slow Reply with quote

My system:

XP SP2
Duel XEON Intel 2.4Ghz Hyperthreaded
ATI Radeon 9800XT 256MB
512MB RAM
1280x1024/32-bit color/Duel monitors

I just ran the preview on my primary display monitor and i'm getting no better than 7FPS in the GUI (full-screen). I launched Bomberman '93 and it runs at a solid 60fps. If you need more info let me know.

EDIT: Just tried changing rez to 1024x768 and color depth to 16-bit but same result. Windowed mode also has no effect. Moving the window to my other display also has same result.
_________________
-Aaron
http://www.pcenginefx.com - The NEC Console Resource


Last edited by Pcenginefx on Mon Nov 22, 2004 6:01 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
SchmuckofNI
Member
Member


Joined: 13 Jan 2003
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Fri Nov 19, 2004 11:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It appears a lot of games are broken with this release.
Populos no longer plays, nor can I open up my old save states from the previous version of magic engine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Kaminari
Elder
Elder


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 1432
Location: Paris, France

PostPosted: Sat Nov 20, 2004 12:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The GUI works fine here (Celeron D330, GeForce3 Ti 200), except when hovering over the games list; the pointer lags whenever the emulator tries to look for preview pictures.

[Edit] Seems to only happen when ME is building its games.idx.


Last edited by Kaminari on Sat Nov 20, 2004 1:04 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
gamecaptor
Visitor
Visitor


Joined: 08 Jul 2002
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sat Nov 20, 2004 12:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm noticing some lag as well. When I first start the GUI it's slow and when I open the ROMs folder and browse.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
reddice
Member
Member


Joined: 19 Nov 2004
Posts: 24
Location: Brooklyn, NY

PostPosted: Sat Nov 20, 2004 12:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This version is very slow and I don't know how to put it into window mode.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Kaminari
Elder
Elder


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 1432
Location: Paris, France

PostPosted: Sat Nov 20, 2004 1:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have a look in your PCE.INI file:

Code:
  ;
  ; windowed mode
  ; --
  ; select windowed mode at startup
  ;
  ;   y -> windowed
  ;   n -> fullscreen [default]
  ;

windowed=y
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Alexsource
Regular
Regular


Joined: 20 Nov 2004
Posts: 103

PostPosted: Sat Nov 20, 2004 2:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm getting more or less descent fps in gui (between 15 and 25 in window mode, a couple more in full screen, i think).
But in game fps is always less than 12, plus it runs real slow (i've only tested with alien crush).
YET, considering my crappy integrated video card+ even crappier OpenGL drivers, i'm amazed it works at all! RazzRazzRazz Surprised
Specs:
Windows XP SP1, AMD Duron 1200+@850 Mhz, 256 Mb Ram (32 Mb shared with integrated videocard), SiS 630/730 integrated videocard, SiS 7018 integrated sound card.

One more thing... what happened with the auto frame skipping thingy?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
denzilla
Regular
Regular


Joined: 03 Jan 2003
Posts: 141

PostPosted: Sat Nov 20, 2004 2:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is a shot in the dark, but try disabling Hyperthreading in the Bios if your board supports it. Hyperthreading can degrade performance in certain cases. My P4c 2.8 is a hyperthreading chip but I'm not running Dual cpus like you.

BTW: Impressive hardware you're pack'n! You don't play around with games, do you? Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pcenginefx
Visitor
Visitor


Joined: 07 Jul 2003
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Mon Nov 22, 2004 6:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried disabling Hyperthreading and my 2nd CPU and tried PR 3...same deal. So seems that having a 2nd CPU doesn't seem to effect it (at least in my case).

I'm thinking it is a display driver problem. My other system (Duel P4 3.2GHz, 9800XT 256MB, 1GB RAM) has the same video card as my XEON box, but has a version or two lower rev of the ATI driver and runs the GUI just fine at 60fps.

So to sum it up, PRv3 GUI still runs <8fps on my XEON box, but runs fine on my Duel P4 box. I also tried it on my 3rd box (AMD64 3000+, 9800 Pro, 1GB RAM) and PRv2 ran fine on that.

BTW denzilla, I use my duel proc systems for 3D rendering/video projects, and my AMD64 for gaming (playing HL2 right now).
_________________
-Aaron
http://www.pcenginefx.com - The NEC Console Resource
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
denzilla
Regular
Regular


Joined: 03 Jan 2003
Posts: 141

PostPosted: Mon Nov 22, 2004 7:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does your hardware have disabled integrated video? The reason I'm asking is because when I first got MagicEngine (along time ago) I had integrated video that was disabled but it was still bogging down MagicEngine through my ATI card. Dracula X ran choppy as heck. Its another longshot, but check it out.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Specineff
Elder
Elder


Joined: 29 Aug 2002
Posts: 258
Location: Arizona

PostPosted: Tue Nov 23, 2004 10:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

My brother's humble laptop P3 800 Mhz was able to run ME 1.0 upon installing the drivers for the humble ATI mobility card 8 MB. Now if the sound and pad support were like the other versions, I'd be set. Pray
_________________
Proud owner of a Dreamcast, Saturn, Turbo Duo and a registered version of ME since 2002.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Kaminari
Elder
Elder


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 1432
Location: Paris, France

PostPosted: Tue Nov 23, 2004 4:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey Specineff,

Which problem do you have with the sound? PSG or CD?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    MagicEngine Forum Index -> Bug/Problem Reports All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group