MagicEngine
Forums
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
 Japanese English 

Everything works but no CD audio
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    MagicEngine Forum Index -> Bug/Problem Reports
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ezra
Visitor
Visitor


Joined: 05 Jun 2002
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Wed Jun 05, 2002 5:42 am    Post subject: Everything works but no CD audio Reply with quote

All the Hucard roms run perfect. When I boot a CD game it runs fine with sound effects but no .wav music. This occurs with all CD games. I've opened the games on two different CD drives and used both the Magic System and the System Cards. I get the same results everytime...no music. Anyone have any ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ethylene
Member
Member


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Wed Jun 05, 2002 7:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The idea that came to my mind is this. Check the PCE.INI file in a text editor. Find the line:

cd_audio_input_line=

Now check the LOG.TXT file. Make sure the device marked as:

(selected as CD input line)

is the correct one. If not, take the number next to the correct device and put it next to the variable in PCE.INI.

C2H4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ezra
Visitor
Visitor


Joined: 05 Jun 2002
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Wed Jun 05, 2002 7:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the help Ethylene. I've tried to designate the correct CD drive but it doesn't work. I've tried both my CD drives.
This happens with both burned games and originals.

There is an audio cable running between the CD drive and the soundcard. I've also tested with an audio CD.

Windows 98 reads the PC Engine disc as an Audio CD.

I'm useing ME 9.8
Win 98
Soundblaster 16
Acer 50x CD-ROM
HP 9100 CD-Writer

heres the log file for an original Lords of thunder

[SOUND INIT]
init sound timer... OK
init direct sound interface... OK
set cooperative level... OK
create primary buffer... OK
setup primary buffer: freq=44100 channels=2 bits=16... OK
alloc sound buffer... OK
play sound buffer... OK
check sound buffer... OK
init CD audio volume control... no control!

[BACKUP RAM]
loading backup RAM database index file : "C:\PCEngine TV\Magic Engine 9.8 Full\backup.idx"... OK
checking database... 1 bank(s) found
clear and initialize a new backup RAM

[CD-ROM INIT]
opening ASPI DLL... OK
scanning ASPI devices... found 2 CD-ROM drive(s)
CD-ROM timeout set to 0
create dummy rom... OK
searching game backup RAM in database [10000001|00000000]... not found
clear and initialize a new backup RAM

[HUCARD]
opening ROM file : "syscard3.pce"... OK
loading ROM... OK
searching game backup RAM in database [6D9A73EF|00000000]... not found
clear and initialize a new backup RAM

[CD]

[BOOT CD]
test unit... ready (250ms)
reading TOC...
- OK, 23 track(s) detected
track 1 [10]: 00 02 00 ( 0, 3590)
track 2 [14]: 00 49 65 ( 3590, 7478)
track 3 [10]: 01 41 53 ( 7478, 14404)
track 4 [10]: 03 14 04 ( 14404, 19045)
track 5 [10]: 04 15 70 ( 19045, 21295)
track 6 [10]: 04 45 70 ( 21295, 25839)
track 7 [10]: 05 46 39 ( 25839, 30330)
track 8 [10]: 06 46 30 ( 30330, 39269)
track 9 [10]: 08 45 44 ( 39269, 43738)
track 10 [10]: 09 45 13 ( 43738, 44948)
track 11 [10]: 10 01 23 ( 44948, 58395)
track 12 [10]: 13 00 45 ( 58395, 78434)
track 13 [10]: 17 27 59 ( 78434, 98457)
track 14 [10]: 21 54 57 ( 98457, 118543)
track 15 [10]: 26 22 43 ( 118543, 138743)
track 16 [10]: 30 51 68 ( 138743, 158885)
track 17 [10]: 35 20 35 ( 158885, 178994)
track 18 [10]: 39 48 44 ( 178994, 199087)
track 19 [10]: 44 16 37 ( 199087, 202820)
track 20 [10]: 45 06 20 ( 202820, 216220)
track 21 [10]: 48 04 70 ( 216220, 229551)
track 22 [10]: 51 02 51 ( 229551, 243280)
track 23 [14]: 54 05 55 ( 243280, 246869)
read sector 3590...3591 (2)
read sector 3590searching game backup RAM in database [70D557C3|7ABF01B9]... not found
clear and initialize a new backup RAM
...3717 (128)
read sector 3592...3593 (2)
read sector 5578...5705 (128)
play audio 7478...14404
read sector 3594...3721 (128)
play audio 19045...21295
pause audio... OK
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ethylene
Member
Member


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Wed Jun 05, 2002 8:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm, I wonder what the

'init CD audio volume control... no control!'

is all about.

So the audio CD plays fine in Windows.... have you installed Creative's drivers for the SB16? I have a very similar card, an AWE64, and here's the [SOUND INIT] portion of my LOG.TXT for a CD game:

[SOUND INIT]
init sound timer... OK
init direct sound interface... OK
set cooperative level... OK
create primary buffer... OK
setup primary buffer: freq=44100 channels=2 bits=16... OK
alloc sound buffer... OK
play sound buffer... OK
check sound buffer... OK
scanning sound card... found 1 sound card(s)
checking sound card mixer ("AWE64G Mixer [220]" v4.38)...
+SPEAKERS: vol = 74 [00000000/0000FFFF]
-WAVEOUT [ 0] vol = 74 [00000000/0000FFFF]
-SYNTHESIZER [ 1] vol = 74 [00000000/0000FFFF]
-COMPACTDISC [ 2] vol = 74 [00000000/0000FFFF] (selected as CD input line)
-LINE [ 3] vol = 100 [00000000/0000FFFF]
-MICROPHONE [ 4] vol = 72 [00000000/0000FFFF]
-PCSPEAKER [ 5] vol = 0 [00000000/0000FFFF]
+WAVEIN:
+VOICEIN:
master audio volume... 100 (74)
fx audio volume... 100 (74)
cd audio volume... 100 (74)

My guess is that you don't have the Creative drivers and/or mixer utility installed... am I right?

Just out of curiosity, is your card an ISA or a PCI?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dmichel
Admin
Admin


Joined: 04 Apr 2002
Posts: 1167
Location: France

PostPosted: Wed Jun 05, 2002 5:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:

'init CD audio volume control... no control!'


v0.98 of MagicEngine didn't support the sound card mixer driver, it used another way to control CD sound...

You should try the lastest version (v0.99b4), it should work a lot better.
_________________
David Michel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ezra
Visitor
Visitor


Joined: 05 Jun 2002
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Wed Jun 05, 2002 8:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried ME 9.9 beta 4 but still no music. I get the same result from Yame. Here is the suond portion for 9.9beta 4. Looks like even more trouble.
I'll try the creative drivers riht now

[SOUND INIT]
init sound timer... OK
init direct sound interface... OK
set cooperative level... OK
create primary buffer... OK
setup primary buffer: freq=44100 channels=2 bits=16... OK
alloc sound buffer... OK
play sound buffer... OK
check sound buffer... OK
scanning sound card... found 1 sound card(s)
checking sound card mixer ("VIA Audio (WAVE)" v5.0)...
+SPEAKERS: vol = 100 [00000000/0000FFFF]
-WAVEOUT [ 0] vol = 86 [00000000/0000FFFF] (selected as CD input line)
-SYNTHESIZER [ 1] vol = 100 [00000000/0000FFFF]
-ANALOG [ 2] vol = 0 [00000000/0000FFFF]
-MICROPHONE [ 3] vol = 49 [00000000/0000FFFF]
-LINE [ 4] vol = 40 [00000000/0000FFFF]
-COMPACTDISC [ 5] vol = 86 [00000000/0000FFFF]
-ANALOG [ 6] vol = 49 [00000000/0000FFFF]
-ANALOG [ 7] vol = 49 [00000000/0000FFFF]
-TELEPHONE [ 8] vol = 49 [00000000/0000FFFF]
-WAVEOUT [ 9] vol = 74 [00000000/0000FFFF]
+WAVEIN:
master audio volume... 100 (100)
fx audio volume... 74 (74)
cd audio volume... 85 (86)

[BACKUP RAM]
loading backup RAM database index file : "C:\DOWNLOADS\MAGIC ENGINE 9.9 BETA 4\backup.idx"... not found

[CD-ROM INIT]
scanning NT scsi drivers...
- D: error!
- E: error!
checking CD-ROM drives... no adapter found!
opening ASPI DLL... OK
scanning ASPI devices...
- drive 0: adapter=0, unit=0, lun=0 [type=5]
- drive 1: adapter=0, unit=1, lun=0 [type=5]
select drive 0
CD-ROM timeout set to 0
create dummy rom... OK
searching game backup RAM in database [10000001|00000000]... not found
clear and initialize a new backup RAM
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dmichel
Admin
Admin


Joined: 04 Apr 2002
Posts: 1167
Location: France

PostPosted: Wed Jun 05, 2002 8:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ezra wrote:
I tried ME 9.9 beta 4 but still no music. I get the same result from Yame. Here is the suond portion for 9.9beta 4. Looks like even more trouble.


Just set the 'cd_audio_input_line' option to '5' to select the right CD input line... this shouldn't fix the problem, though.

I don't see what it could be, if there's an audio cable inside your PC to connect the CD-ROM drive to the sound card it should always work... hmm, when MagicEngine play an audio track, do you get sound from the CD-ROM drive headphone plug?
_________________
David Michel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ezra
Visitor
Visitor


Joined: 05 Jun 2002
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Wed Jun 05, 2002 9:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey, I was giveing you guys the wrong info. I'm not using a sound card. I'm useing on-board sound from an ASUS A7V-E motherboard... the audio cable runs from the back of my CDDrive to the motherboard. When I check my System properties the sound driver installed is
"VIA AC'97 Audio Controller (WDM)".

Also when I boot my PC there is a DOS message in the backgroud of the Windows splash screen tha sz
"Please Enable Sound Blaster Pro i BIOS settins First!"
I checked my CMOS but can't find anything related to this.

I know i may be asking to rack you brains alittle but if you can see what I'm doing wrong please help. btw did i mention the same thing happns with YAME.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ezra
Visitor
Visitor


Joined: 05 Jun 2002
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Thu Jun 06, 2002 12:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

When I play a PCE game with Magic Engine the CD music comes out of the from headphone jack. That's better than before but the computer generated sounds come from the speaker-out on the back of my PC (motherboard as I have on-board sound) nothing from the Line-out jack. The only way to get the full sound as it stands is to use a Y-adapter but that would kill the sound Q. Crying or Very sad
Any suggestions are welcome.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kaminari
Elder
Elder


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 1432
Location: Paris, France

PostPosted: Thu Jun 06, 2002 2:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The embedded AC97 is a good soundchip which shouldn't cause you any specific trouble. I would check too things: the BIOS of your motherboard and the driver of the soundchip. Either way, go to http://download.asus.com.tw/mb_alllist.asp and search for the A7V-E in the Socket A section.

ezra wrote:
Also when I boot my PC there is a DOS message in the backgroud of the Windows splash screen tha sz
"Please Enable Sound Blaster Pro i BIOS settins First!"
I checked my CMOS but can't find anything related to this.


Please check thoroughly again, just in case. Have a closer look at the manual too, it may be more insightful than the inline help when it comes to explain abstruse features.

OK, let's get back to Asus website. For the BIOS, check that you have the latest version for your motherboard. The message you're getting at boot time shows that there's something definitely wrong with your BIOS settings. An updated BIOS should obviously give you the possibility to enable this Sound Blaster Pro emulation.

Finally check for any software driver (audio, AGP, whatever). There are many for your motherboard.

ezra wrote:
... the computer generated sounds come from the speaker-out on the back of my PC (motherboard as I have on-board sound) nothing from the Line-out jack.


I'd say that's perfectly normal Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ezra
Visitor
Visitor


Joined: 05 Jun 2002
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Thu Jun 06, 2002 1:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did two things. First I went to the Asus site and DLed the VIA sound driver for 98SE. I then tried to update the driver but windows kept telling me this is the same driver I'm already using so it would'nt update. I checked back with the site and DLed the sound driver patch for Win 98...the site offered no description for the patch except for the name. So after DLing I extracted to an .exe file and used it and restarted. At that point i start Magic Engine, it goes to black screen and hangs the PC and Yame starts with Sound initialization error pop-up and runs the game without any sound.

My next step was to get rid of the patch somehow...so I tried to reinstall the driver in its original form after DLing an unpatched copy. Before that and cause I'm so impatient I enabled the Sound Blaster Emulation in the BIOS by reading the manual... OK now to reinstall the sound driver. Windows now tells me that the driver is not designed to work with the sound hardware (previous to useing the patch it told me this driver was the same one already installed so there was no need to update).

I avoided updateing the motherboard BIOS as that has greater potential for more complications. So in writing this I see I made the mistake of enableing the Sound Blaster emulation before fixing the problem i just created.

I'm hoping that windows is seeing the onboard sound chip as a sound blaster needing the sound blaster driver so thats why it did not recognize the VIA driver as a match. I'm also hopeing the VIA patch wasn't a firmware update for the sound chip cause that takes this to a whole other level. Crying or Very sad

I'll troubleshoot further by disableing the SB emulation and see if Windows matches the VIA driver to the sound chip. failing that I'll try to use the creative SB driver. I suspect the solution to my original problem was to simply enable the SB emulation. Right now I have no sound at all. I think thats a good sign cause as soon as i fix the general sound problem the Magic Engine problem should also be fixed Idea That shouldn't take long but i wont be at my PC for another 10 hrs so i thought i'd throw this at y'all.

I'm not asking anyone to troubleshoot my PC, thats my own problem. But if anyone has experience with Magic Engine hanging at black screen when executed, please just offer your insites. Rolling Eyes
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ethylene
Member
Member


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Thu Jun 06, 2002 5:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey, ezra, sorry that you're in Update Hell Wink

This thought crossed my mind:

I have a motherboard here with a VIA southbridge and AC '97 codec sound. It has three audio connectors:

- TAD
- CD IN 1
- CD IN 2

Is it possible you have the CDROM audio cable hooked up to a different connector than you think? One that is un-muted in Windows, and muted in MagicEngine? Explaining why you get CD sound in Windows but not in MagicEngine?

Just a thought... good luck!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ethylene
Member
Member


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Thu Jun 06, 2002 5:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

...I wouldn't try the Creative drivers. They'll be expecting an actual, physical card. You should be able to get the right drivers from ASUS.

Did you look at LOG.TXT to see at what point MagicEngine locks up?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kaminari
Elder
Elder


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 1432
Location: Paris, France

PostPosted: Fri Jun 07, 2002 5:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ezra wrote:
I did two things. First I went to the Asus site and DLed the VIA sound driver for 98SE. I then tried to update the driver but windows kept telling me this is the same driver I'm already using so it would'nt update. I checked back with the site and DLed the sound driver patch for Win 98...the site offered no description for the patch except for the name. So after DLing I extracted to an .exe file and used it and restarted. At that point i start Magic Engine, it goes to black screen and hangs the PC and Yame starts with Sound initialization error pop-up and runs the game without any sound.


Which OS do you have? 98 or 98SE? You have to choose the appropriate version. This is no gambling.

Even if the OS keeps telling you it's the same driver, chances are there are still some minor differences between the Microsoft standard driver and the one supplied by Asus. You can still force the installation of the Asus driver and see how it does.

I should also point out that IMHO it's completely useless trying updating a driver if it's corresponding device's BIOS has not been updated accordingly. The new driver could make use of new features which are not available since you didn't updated the BIOS.

I have a good old P3B-F (originally equipped with a P2@350 Slot 1) and I have updated it a half-dozen times without any single problem. These updates allowed me to make full use of a P3@667 FCPGA through a Soltek slocket adapter (which was simply not possible with the standart BIOS) and push it upto 850 MHz. These are not 'minor' updates if you ask me.

ezra wrote:
My next step was to get rid of the patch somehow...so I tried to reinstall the driver in its original form after DLing an unpatched copy. Before that and cause I'm so impatient I enabled the Sound Blaster Emulation in the BIOS by reading the manual... OK now to reinstall the sound driver. Windows now tells me that the driver is not designed to work with the sound hardware (previous to useing the patch it told me this driver was the same one already installed so there was no need to update).


See above. It may be related to the fact that you didn't update the BIOS.

Disable the SB Pro emulation. Update the BIOS. Force-reinstall the latest Asus AC97 driver for your OS (98SE I presume). Then enable again the SB Pro emu.

ezra wrote:
I'm hoping that windows is seeing the onboard sound chip as a sound blaster needing the sound blaster driver so thats why it did not recognize the VIA driver as a match. I'm also hopeing the VIA patch wasn't a firmware update for the sound chip cause that takes this to a whole other level. Crying or Very sad


It's a software driver, not firmware.

And as Ethylene says, you should not by any means install any Creative drivers since the BIOS provides an emulation of the SB Pro.

Ethylene's suggestion about the audio connectors is worth a check, too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ezra
Visitor
Visitor


Joined: 05 Jun 2002
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Fri Jun 07, 2002 5:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well it seems my original dilema is solved. I changed the audio cable from CD1 to CD 2 and I get the CD music from the back of the PC just as ethylene said. No more black screen from Magic Engine though. Maybe something happened after forcieng the sound chip driver about 6 times. i removed the VIA 97 device in Device Manager 3 times and each time my PC blue screened, after pressing any key everything resumed and the device was gone. I then reset and i'm promted to install a driver for the NewHardware. Thats were i force it... and also when simply updateing.

Now, although I get the CD music from the games i don't get any computer generated sound effects at all. And no sound at all when playing .avi or .mpg or anything.

Here are my options:1 reinstall Win 98SE
2 update the BIOS

I'm afraid to update the BIOS but I would prefer to do that. As reinstalling the OS would be a copp out and I would learn nothing.

NOTE:the patch name is "VIA Audio Driver 1.40a--Audio Patch Driver for Windows 98/ME/NT40/2000/XP". I'm running 98SE. I understand that one OS is different from the other, but the difference between 98 and 98SE? I guess different enough to matter. I'm not dumb but I hope you can see why I used it for my 98SE.

If infact is was a bad move would the BIOS update help. If not how do I reverse the changes the patch made? Speculation of what the patch did is welcome as it would get my wheels turning and increase my familiarity with OSs.

Thanks for the time everyones already given me. Funny how the problem was just the audio cable Rolling Eyes
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    MagicEngine Forum Index -> Bug/Problem Reports All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group